Venison in red wine and blackcurrant sauce

I would like to wish all of you peaceful and relaxing Easter time! We’ve just came back from warm and sunny Istanbul, full of blossoming tulips and twittering birds to grey, cloudy Helsinki, still covered with 10cm layer of snow … Pretty depressing to be welcomed by rain, nevertheless after one week  of delightful laziness I feel I’m back boasting with energy 🙂 Now I just need to unpack, go through several hundred of pictures and I promise that soon I’ll be back for good with some posts about Istanbul, its fabulous street foods and some recipes too!

For now though, I’ll leave you with the post about delicious wild bites 😉 We had enjoyed these pretty venison steaks just before we left to Turkey. They were fried and sprinkled with crushed peppercorns, served with potato mash and honey roasted carrots and parsnips. The sauce is a red wine and blackcurrant reduction. I’ve eaten such once in a restaurant and tried to replicate it. It came out pretty well, I must say.

INGREDIENTS

small bunch of thyme
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbsp juniper berries, crushed
300ml red wine (I used Cabernet Sauvignon)
1 cube of organic beef stock
2-3 tbsp blackcurrant jam (depending on acidity of your wine and your taste)
25g butter, cubed

1. Put the wine, garlic, juniper berries, thyme and a beef stock cube into a saucepan and bring to boil. Reduce the heat and simmer till the liquid volume decreases by half.

2. Pull the sauce through a sieve and return it to the pot. Add jam, season with salt and pepper. Slowly add butter, one cube at a time, whisking continuously till it melts and adds a nice thickness and gloss.

11 thoughts on “Venison in red wine and blackcurrant sauce

  1. This looks so juicy and amazing! I feel like biting through my computer screen 🙂 I’ve never made venison, but have been experimenting with red wine sauces lately. Not completely clear on how you prepare the meat in this recipe, do you just season and fry it? How long does it take for a medium-rare?

    • Hi! Well I have fried them and sprinkled with crushed peppercorns and salt afterwards. This was my first time with roe deer meat, I’ve just done it as I would do veal steaks. It’s hard to say how much time you need for medium-rare, cause it all depends how big cut of meat you’re gonna get. Some very general tip may be that once you sear the meat and continue to fry, you should at some point spot that the meat has started to “sweat” – some of the juices will appear, and thats a rough sign that meat is fried till medium-rare or medium stage. Hope that’s somehow useful tip for you 🙂

    • Hello Pierre! Istanbul is amazing destination for foodies, you definitely won’t be disappointed. When it comes to food the best one is street food or in small cozy restaurants, where the locals are eating. Basically, if you see lots of locals then you know the food must be good there and is authentic. There is a simple rule it seems – the more fancy and touristic the restaurant the worse the food (though I didn’t try any of the famous fancy ones so can’t say about those). To find some good places to go to please visit http://www.istanbuleats.com You may find also an episode of Antony Bourdains No Reservations in Istanbul interesting – you can watch it online for free on Youtube – here is a link to the first part: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pz223HRovno Apart from these two I also recommend you to have a look on a thread on Chowhound about good places to eat in Istanbul http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/671504

      Basically in Istanbul you should have lamb dishes, as they mastered its preparation to perfection (particularly pit roasted suckling lambs) as well as fish – its straight from the sea and now is a season for turbot – though expensive you may find it a treat. Soon I’ll post at least 2 entries about food in Istanbul – one about street food and one about sweets. If you’re interested please visit me again 🙂 If you are interested on some particular things that concern eating or food shopping or whatever feel free to ask 🙂 Hope you’ll enjoy your trip as much as I did 🙂

  2. Hi Aga! Happy Easter for both you and Mikko. 🙂

    The venison looks just great… blackcurrant sauce must be a good combination too. Maybe I could try it too sometime.

    Can’t wait for your Istanbul pics.. post it soon please 😀

  3. Pingback: 3 Gluten Free Gourmet Venison Recipes | taste station blog

Leave a comment