Almond and coffee cake

You know those days when you just keep on singing a song that has stuck in your head? Well I had such one on Saturday and I wouldn’t mind that much if it just wasn’t the popular kid’s song. After several hours of constant annoying humming I managed to improve a bit the outdated version (don’t you think I’m a bit too old to clap my hands😉 ?). I was so sick of it that finally I decided I should bake a cake and while mixing the ingredients I was still constantly singing to myself:

“If you’re happy and you know it BAKE A CAKE

if you’re happy and you know it BAKE A CAKE

if you’re happy and you know it and you really want to show it

if you’re happy and you know it BAKE A CAKE”

I thought that I’ll never get rid of this infuriating melody, but once the cake popped out from the oven, as if with the touch of a magic wound, the song has disappeared from my mind. I must admit I had some problems with the baking procedure itself. The recipe calls for baking in 150C, what seemed a bit suspicious, taking into consideration that it is just a very simple basic cake, as I bake most of the cakes in 180C. Anyway, as I’m not a baking guru and the recipe was from a guru – the great Gordon Ramsay I decided to simply follow it and see what happens. After 1h of baking my cake wasn’t ready yet, so I pulled the temperature up to nearly 200 and baked it covered with aluminum foil for 10-15 min. Fortunately, this didn’t affect the cake anyhow. It did not dry out, and was still nicely moist inside. Was it a typo in the book or rather my oven that has some problems with keeping temperatures right – that’s and unsolved mystery. Anyway, I pass on the original recipe to you.

INGREDIENTS:

170g unsalted butter

170g caster sugar

3 large eggs lightly beaten

1/2 tsp almond essence (I put 1)

100g ground almonds

4 tbsp extremely strong espresso (I put 6)

100g self raising flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

 

Crunch topping:

60g plain flour

40g demerara sugar

40g cold unsalted butter

 

1.       Preheat the oven to 150C. Butter the 20cm cake tin. Make the crunch topping mixing all the ingredients with your fingers and making crumbles.

2.       Cream the butter and sugar in a bowl. Slowly beat in the eggs. Fold in the almonds, almond essence and half of the espresso. Add flour, baking powder and finally the rest of espresso.

3.       Spread the mixture in cake tin and sprinkle the toping. Bake for 50-60min or until a skewer inserted into a cake comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “Almond and coffee cake

Leave a Reply

