Chicken breast with Parma ham and goat cheese

There are days that I don’t mind cooking, but I’m really lousy with figuring out what we should have for dinner.  Those days I leave it totally to Mr. No Onion Please, though I know that 2 out of 3 times he will simply answer – let’s stuff and wrap something. You see, we have this kind of “rescue” dish when we want something easy, fast to prepare yet still flavorful. It is enough to take a piece of meat (chicken breast or thick slice of pork sirloin), some kind of cheese (ranging from Philadelphia cheese to mature goat cheese),  herbs (sage, basil, oregano, marjoram… whatever you say) and the wrap thingy – dry-cured ham like Parma,  Jamon, or just regular smoked bacon. Choose one ingredient from each group, combine and voila! The dish below is my favourite combo🙂 I’m a real freak when it comes to sage – it’s definitely my favorite herb and i try to stuff it into any food that we cook😀 My second great love is goat cheese, though I must admit, the relationship started rough as when I have bought it for the first time, I threw it away with disgust (God, that’s how udder must taste I thought :D). I’m laughing that I wasn’t mature enough to appreciate it,  because nowadays my kitchen would be absolutely incomplete without a log of nicely aged goat cheese. This is an extremely fast and easy recipe that combines all the flavors I like, hope you will enjoy it as well🙂. The amounts given below are enough for one person. Oh, and by the way, I’m going on holidays again so see you back in 2 weeks or so😉.

INGREDIENTS:

– chicken breast without skin and bone

– 2 slices of Parma ham

– 2-3 slices of goat cheese (I used aged Sainte Maure cheese)

– 1 tbsp of finely chopped sage

– pepper (I don’t use salt as the ham and cheese are already salty)

1. Cut a pocket in the middle of the breast. Be careful not to poke it with the knife. Stuff it with goat cheese, sage and  sprinkle a bit of pepper inside.

2. You may want to close the pocket with the toothpicks, however I don’t do it, Parma ham is enough to keep the cheese inside if you wrap it tightly. Sprinkle pepper on the breast and wrap it tightly in Parma ham. Voila! Now you just need to fry it! Ain’t it super-fast and easy?🙂

8 thoughts on “Chicken breast with Parma ham and goat cheese

  1. nyumm!!!I also love goat cheese and Parma ham as well.I have to try this out!!!I don’t make any photo though knowing my abilities in the kitchen :p

  2. I used to have a lot of trouble too, deciding what to make for dinner. That’s why recently I have started to plan my meals out for a couple of weeks ahead of time. It’s worked out well for me so far. Then again, my husband does not help much when I can’t think of something, he can’t either. Sigh. This dish looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

