Sesame beef stir-fry

Not to become too monothematic with my Istanbul posts, before serving you the final one, let me show you what I cooked last week. You may remember, I’ve mentioned it once, that on my favourite food forum we have a custom of making thematic weeks. The theme for last week was chinese cuisine. Being really succesful with my previous chinese creation – pork tenderloin in yellow bean sauce, I decided once again to give Ching’s fail-proof recipes a go. Much to Mr’s No Onion Please delight, I’ve chosen a sesame beef stir-fry recipe (Ching-He Huan, published in Delicious magazine). WHOA it is just amazing! It’s quite simple and the result is delicious – a huge chunk of meat (over 600g!) disappeared in one day! I believe it speaks well enough for the recipe😉 Anyway, the result is not only tasty. The texture is absolutely fantastic! I must say I was a bit skeptical when looking at the picture in the magazine. As usual the food looked perfect, but my previous experience with coated meat was far from such – I notoriously was loosing at least half of the coating when frying, getting it burned and if it wasn’t burned then the meat was turning out to be soggy. So no wonder that when attempting this recipe I sighed quietly trying to gather all my patience. But there were no reasons to cry! As you can see yourself, the sesame coating is just perfect. It looks good, doesn’t fall off, it is crunchy and just bellow you’ll find melt in your mouth beef (if, of course, you’ll invest in a good quality sirloin). I saw my man eating  Ching’s dishes and I bet I already know whose cookbook will be the next present from him😉

INGREDIENTS

marinade:
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tsp grated ginger
1 tsp Shaohsing wine
1 tsp dark soya sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp brown sugar

250g beef sirloin, cut in very thin slices
potato flour
egg, slightly beaten
sesame seeds

oil for wok
1 tbsp Shaohsing wine
2 peppers cut in pieces
100ml beef stock
2 tbsp soya sauce
1 tsp sesame oil
1 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp corn flour

1. Mix the marinade ingredients together in a bowl, add beef slices and let it stand for half an hour in cold place.
2. Each beef slice should be coated first with potato flour, egg and finally sesame seeds.
3. Fry the pieces in heated wok for 1-2 min and set them aside.
4. Put the wok back to the heat, add wine and peppers, fry for 2-3 min.
5. Mix wine, soya sauce, sesame oil, sugar and corn flour together. Add to wok and fry for 2 more min.
6. Add the meat, mix well so that it gets coated with sauce and take away from the heat.

7 thoughts on “Sesame beef stir-fry

  1. Pingback: Sesame Beef « What's 4 Dinner Solutions

Leave a Reply

