Astoria soup

I’m lately quite lazy when it comes to writing posts, I guess mostly it’s because I should still go through some pictures from Istanbul and I can’t put myself to do it. This post is somehow unintended one. I usually don’t blog about the mid-week food as it is always cooked in the evening, in a rush and I’m too hungry to make pictures. However, this particular soup turned out to be so amazingly delicious that in spite of terrible photo I just had to blog about it. I’ve recently borrowed Jamie’s America cookbook and must say there are quite many recipes that I would like to try. One of them was Astoria soup and since I had most of the ingredients in my kitchen it was first on try. No disappointment here. I guess it’s even one of the best soups I have been eating recently! I’ve changed slightly Jamie’s recipe – instead of bulgur I  used quinoa, added juice of 1 lemon (the soup really needs some acidity to develop the flavour fully) and adjusted spice amounts to my own liking. Below you can find the original recipe. Don’t be discouraged by the photo, the soup is truly great!

Ingredients

3 peppers (red or mixed colours), deseeded and sliced
4 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
olive oil
2 tbsp sumac
2 tbsp zataar
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp smoked paprika
12 cherry tomatoes, halved
400g tin of chopped tomatoes
1l chicken or vegetable stock
salt and pepper
bulgur wheat

1. Cook bulgur/quinoa until tender and set aside.

2. Heat the oil in a big pot. Add peppers, garlic, sumac, zataar, cumin and paprika and saute for several minutes.

3. Add the stock and tin of tomatoes. Bring to the boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 10-15 min.

4. Add the wheat, cherry tomatoes, season with salt and pepper, cook for 2-3 minutes more.

6 thoughts on “Astoria soup

  1. Bardzo podoba mi sie ten przepis Kiiri! Dobrze, ze go tu zamiescilas🙂

    Ciesze sie, ze tonka doszla ‘calo i zdrowo’😉 Juz sie troche zaczynalam martiwc… Mam nadzieje, ze Ci posmakuje🙂
    Jesli bedziesz chciala jej wiecej – daj prosze znac🙂

    Pozdrawiam serdecznie!

  2. Hi, that sounds wonderful, can’t wait to try it🙂 Am using it in a Home Economics Assignment. Can you tell me how many people it serves ??🙂

    Thanks🙂

Leave a Reply

