Slow roasted duck

I love to shop in oriental food stores (not that we have that many of those here). Anyway, I have no idea what are 80% of the ingredients used for, but I still like to go there and wonder around, making Mr No Onion Please slightly irritated at best. Recently I’ve spotted a frozen duck – nothing special for some, but regarding how pricy and time-consuming it is to find one in a regular shop in Finland, I can say it’s a kind of delicacy here. Moreover, it was written on the pack with huge letters: Lucky Duck. Gosh…. what could I want more, I’ve grabbed it and proclaimed MINE (after the cash register of course).

I adore slow roasted meat. I bet you too, unless you describe yourself as a herbivore, in which case anyway you’re probably not reading this post anymore. I’ve found this recipe in one of the BBC Good Food issues. I must say that I’m not a great fan of Ramsay (yeah, it’s all about his personality), but I admit that his recipes are sure show-stoppers. Since I was scoping for a bit more fragrant meat, I’ve increased the amounts of spices that go for stuffing. So here it is – my Lucky Duck… ehem… Dinner.

Ingredients:

– duck – anything between 1,5-2kg

– salt & pepper

– 2 lemons, each cut into 8 parts

– 3 cinnamon sticks, broken into smaller pieces

– 5 star aniseeds

– 5 cloves of garlic, slightly smashed with knife

– new potatoes

Prep step:

It may not seem so, but is a very crucial step. VEEERY CRUCIAL, believe me. Just before you start, inform your second half that since you’re cooking tonight, he/she is cleaning. If you currently don’t have a second half, you’re advised to get one before you proceed.

Now…. ready…. steady…. cook!

1. Remove giblets (if any), pull the excess fat from the duck’s cavity and rub it generously with salt and pepper

2. Stuff the duck with lemon, cinnamon, star anise and garlic

3. Grab a fork and prick the skin all over (by this I mean also A LOT), being careful not to pierce the meat underneath

4. Heat your oven to 140C and roast the duck for 2 hours. Meanwhile, boil the potatoes till they are just ready

5. Take the duck out, increase the heat to 220C. Remove half of the fat from the baking tin, throw in potatoes and sit the duck back into the oven for 20-30 min to crisp it up

6. Take it out, look inside the oven, get happy you have followed the prep step (or not) and INDULGE

3 thoughts on “Slow roasted duck

  1. Hey, welcome to wordpress🙂
    Now I could imagine how the whole roasted duck looks like. That was a huge one i must say! It looks soo yummy though! ;D hmm, wonder when I will meet duck meat again. hahaha🙂

Leave a Reply

