Sweet potato “ravioli”

We have a really tiny kitchen and so to buy whatever kind of gadget is always a fight with my other half. I know we “need to have it”, he knows the kitchen cabinets won’t handle it anymore. Therefore, we are missing quite some of “essential” equipment and so it happens that one  is a pasta machine. I’ve been so jealous reading recipes of how to make ravioli with various amazing fillings, seeing those on the blogs. I wanted to finally make my own, but obviously I won’t attempt making pasta just like that. I must say now, once I’ve found the solution I feel pretty silly that I haven’t ever thought about it before. It’s SO simple! One day I was looking through new arrivals in one of the bookstores, where I found “Vegie food” book. Apart from several nice recipes for soups and salads it had the answer for my ravioli problem! If you can’t make your own pasta just use WON TON WRAPPERS! Why didn’t I figure out that before! Of course I know it’s not the same, but its ideal substitute if you’re just like me – craving to get your home made “ravioli”. Now I have a half a kg pack of won ton wrappers in my freezer and will be finally realising my dream ;) The first recipe was from the book itself. I kept to the recipe very loosely and decided to make a nice addition of browned butter, bacon and fried sage that fits here perfectly. It was an instant hit even with my carnivorous boyfriend. If you want to make it vegetarian just use nuts instead of pancetta for some nice crunch factor.

INGREDIENTS

500g orange sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped

heaped spoon of butter

handful of grated parmesan

juice from half of lemon

1/2 a bunch of finely chopped sage (I’m a sage freak, you may want to decrease the amount)

salt, pepper, spicy paprika or chilli

1 egg, lightly beaten

won ton wrappers

50g butter

pancetta

handful of sage leaves

1. Boil sweet potatoes till soft, pat the cubes dry. Throw them into the food processor and blend together with butter, parmesan, lemon juice and sage. Add spices to your taste, once ready add the half of beaten egg and blend till smooth. Let it cool down.

2. Put a teaspoon of filling on the center of won ton wrapper. Brush the edges with remaining egg. Bend them in half to form triangle shape and press the edges firmly to seal.

3. Prepare the sauce. Fry pancetta in a tbsp of oil. Set aside. Melt the butter in a saucepan. Put it on high heat till you notice it starts to become brownish, then decrease the heat and throw sage leaves. Let them fry for 30 sec-1 min and fish them out. Take the butter off the heat.

4. Boil “ravioli”. Throw them onto boiling water and mix delicately so that they won’t stick to each other. Take them out 1 min after they start floating on the surface.

5. Pour a bit of butter on each plate. Plate the “ravioli” and sprinkle with pancetta and fried sage.

16 thoughts on “Sweet potato “ravioli”

  1. I don’t have a pasta maker either :( Whenever I talk abotu a new kitchen gadget my husband says, “Where are you going to store it, on your side of the bed?” One night I went to bed and found a kitchen tool under the sheets, jokes on me!

    • Hi! Boiled sweet potatoe is much like boiled carrots. Baked sweet potato as well butit has more deep, earthy flavour. If you’re eager to try them go for orange variety, I like them much more than yellow ones :)

  2. Very nice recipe! I love sweet potato, but I never used it for ravioli; it’s time to change it ;)

    PS. I know very well this kind of ‘fight’ ;))

  3. Admittedly I haven;t tried making ravioli from wonton wrappers yet but yours look beautiful, I love the light on that picture. Making pasta definitely takes up a ton of room I usually get out my clothing rack.

Leave a Reply

