White chocolate lime cookies

I must admit, till recently I wasn’t so keen on citrus scents in sweets, particularly in combination with chocolate. I remember that as a child I was always leaving lemon and orange wine gums in the pack and to my despair one shouldn’t open new one till everything was eaten. That’s how in the age of 7 I proclaimed single-mindedly that the most important feature for a boyfriend is to like citrus sweets, and through my childhood I was perceiving it as a must. God bless Mr No Onion Please not only gladly shovels down whatever I leave inside the wine gum pack, but he actually even likes those tastes!

Nevertheless, this is not a post to tell you about kinky partner preferences in my adolescence times. I just want to say that I’ve converted! (not fully, but still). I start to appreciate more citrus flavors and in particular those that are combined with chocolate. Everything started when Bea has posted her Christmas chocolate and orange cookies. I’ve done them only because they were so pretty and anyway I’d planned to bake something as Christmas gifts for my coworkers. But once the marvelous orange scent filled the kitchen I knew I have to try one. They were simply DELICIOUS. They barely survived to be wrapped into cellophane. And that’s how I started to put more attention to choco-citrus sweets. When I saw those white chocolate lime cookies on Have Cake Will Travel I knew I just have to make them. And there was no disappointment here either. They are fantastic! Definitely I’ll be making them often. And definitely I’ll continue my search for more citrus flavored sweets.

WHITE CHOCOLATE LIME COOKIES

130 g butter
140 g sugar
zest of 1 lime
lime juice from 1 lime
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
200g flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon fine sea salt
50 g white chocolate chips
1 to 2 tablespoon(s) milk

Preheat oven to 180°C. Cream together butter and sugar. Stir in zest, juice and extract. In another bowl sift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Fold dry ingredients into wet. Add milk, as needed and fold in chips. Scoop up 1 1/2 to 2 tablespoons worth of dough. Flatten a little, as the cookies don’t spread a lot while baking. Bake for 14 minutes, until the edges of the cookies are golden brown or if you want chewier cookies, aim for 12 minutes  instead.

7 thoughts on “White chocolate lime cookies

  1. These look delicious and soft. Just a few weeks ago I made lime and coconut cookies with white chocolate chunks, they were excellent. I love the mellow white chocolate with bright lime.

  2. I am with you on the citrus and chocolate. Not that I wouldn’t try it, but I probably wouldn’t rush to make a recipe with this combination. That said these pictures are making me salivate!

    • Yup, seems like you’re my kind of girl ;) But it’s really convertible ;) Anyway still on my list of “no-chocolate-combos” is mint and choco duo, but that one makes me feel nauseated and I guess I won’t progress from that state ;)

Leave a Reply

